Sooner or Later (1979)

I just finished watching a movie called Sooner or Later on DVD.  This movie came out in 1979.  It was a made-for-TV movie.  I remember watching it when it first aired. I was 14 1/2 and in 9th grade.  I was a giant raging hormone and I wished this movie was my life.  I think I may have watched it a couple of times over a few years, because I remember way too much of it to have only seen it once.

Something made me think of this movie recently, so I looked it up on Netflix, and it was available on DVD, so I added it to the queue and moved it to the top.  It arrived weeks ago, and has been sitting on top of the DVD player.  Tonight, I can’t sleep, so I put it in the DVD player, hoping it’d fall asleep to it.  But no, I watched the whole 90 plus minutes.

The first thing that jumped out and screamed at me was the fact that there would be no way a movie like this would or could get made today.  You see, this is a story about a 13 yr old girl who develops a huge crush on her guitar teacher, a 17 year old boy, lies about her age, telling him she’s 16, and in the end, everyone lives happily ever after.

Today, it would end up with the poor guy in jail for years, and listed as a registered sex offender for the rest of his life.

The two never actually have sex in the movie, but the do come pretty close at one point, prompting the girl to get a case of the guilts and spill the  beans.  In typical movie formula fashion, the boy freaks, and breaks up with her, but then after getting propositioned by the local slut, he realizes he’s in love with the 13 yr old, and is willing to take it slowly with her.

How did we get from 1979 to now?  I’m not saying it’s OK for a 13 yr old to date a 17 yr old.  But when did we forget that 13 yr old girls think they’re grown up? The boy in this movie (played by a 24 year old actor) took the girl’s word for it that she was 16 (the actress playing her really was 16). This shit happens. Young teenage girls lie about their age to older boys every day.  Boys are just as hormonal. They don’t question things.

I don’t know where I’m going with this and now it’s 5 o’clock in the morning.  f

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

