I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen again

Wow, it’s been a really long time since I’ve posted anything here, but I’ve been spending a lot of time in the kitchen again, and have come up with a couple of new recipes that I wanted to share.

The first one is a crock-pot potato soup recipe that turned out pretty spectacular, if I may say so myself. I’ve been trying for over a year to find a good recipe for potato soup that I could cook in the crock-pot, and use my hand blender my daughter got me for Christmas last year. I didn’t want to cut corners by using pre-packaged ingredients like frozen hash-browns or instant potato flakes.

I finally realized that I was a good cook, and I didn’t need someone else to tell me how to fix what I wanted, that I could come up with something myself, so here it is:

Mama’s Loaded Baked Potato Soup

8 medium russet potatoes, peeled & cubed
32 oz chicken stock
1 can Cream of Celery soup
6-8 slices of bacon
1 large onion, chopped
1 tsp Salt
1 tsp Pepper
½ cup butter or margarine
½-cup flour
1-cup heavy cream
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
Sour cream & chives for garnish

Peel the potatoes and cut them up into ½-inch cubes. Pour chicken stock into crockpot. Place potatoes in the crockpot. Add soup, and stir.

Fry the bacon in a large frying pan until cooked. Remove and cool on paper towels.

Chop the onion and sauté in the left over bacon grease. While the onion is cooking, chop 6 slices of bacon into bits.

Put sautéed onions and bacon bits into the crockpot. Add the salt and pepper.

Cook on high for 5-6 hours

In a small saucepan, melt the butter and add the flour to make a roux. Let cook for several minutes until it starts to brown. Add the cream and stir until thickened. Pour into the crockpot and stir into the potato mixture. Add additional salt and pepper if necessary.

Continue cooking for 20-30 minutes.

If you have a hand blender, blend up the potatoes. Leave some of the potatoes chunky for texture.

Stir in the shredded cheese. Leave out a little for garnish. Let cook 10-20 more minutes, until cheese melts and is well combined.

Serve topped with crumbled bacon, sour cream, and chives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

